Club time trials 2020

Medway Velo runs a number of open and club time trials during the summer months, all of which are run according to the rules and regulations of Cycling Time Trials (CTT) under the auspices of the cycle racing on the highway regulations. For the club events there is no need to enter in advance, for the events signing on takes place close to the start or finish point about 30 minutes before start time, entry fee is £3 for MV members £5 for non members . Entry details for open events can be found on the CTT website.

2020 dates are as follows:

Sunday 15th March:  ‘club’ 10 mile time trial ‘road bikes’ only. 10:00 start.

Wednesday 6th May:  ‘club’ 10 mile time trial. 19:00 start (combined with Wigmore CC)

Saturday 16th May: ‘Open’ 10 mile time trial. 15:00 start

Wednesday 3rd June: ‘club’ 10 mile time trial. 19:00 start (combined with Wigmore CC)

Wednesday 17th June:  ‘inter club’ 10 mile time trial, inter club with Wigmore CC. 19:00 start

Wednesday 1st July: ‘club’ 10 mile time trial.’Two up’ and ‘solos’ 19:00 start (combined with Wigmore CC)

Wednesday 5th August:  ‘club’ 10 mile time trial. 19:00 (combined with Wigmore CC)

Sunday 9th August: ‘Open’ 50 mile time trial. 06:30 start.

Wednesday 19th August: ‘club’ Hill Climb event. 18:45 start.

Sunday 20th September: ‘club’ 10 mile trial, ‘GP de Gentlemen/Women’ and ‘solos’ 10:00 start

For the GP de Gentlemen/women, one rider must be either a veteran or a woman. This ‘designated’ rider must be paced for the first four laps, for the final lap it becomes a traditional two up event where both riders may share the pace making.

In the event of poor weather updates will be published on the clubs facebook page.

Volunteers are always required for marshalling duties.

Details of the scoring system used in club events can be found here.

Course details

Q10/20 – Iwade 

Riders start on the Sheppey Way and complete five laps of a circuit, finishing slightly further along the Sheppey Way in order to complete ten miles.


For a GPX of the course, please click here.

Q10/24 – Grain 

Riders start on the B2001 on the Isle of Grain just south of Power Station Road, they race along the A228 to the roundabout at Fenn Street where they turn, riding back to Grain, finishing a short distance before the starting point.


For a GPX of the course, please click here